THE NEW MARINE TORPILLEUR.
THE MARK OF A CAPTAIN.

A timepiece for those who captain their own destiny.
Streamlined. Dynamic.
The youngest descendant of generations of watchmaking craftsmanship, this chronometer is made for a modern era.

Portrait de Rolf W. Schnyder

Véritable moteur de la marque depuis près de 30 ans, Rolf W. Schnyder est un homme d’affaires aguerri et un fervent partisan de l’horlogerie suisse. En plus de ses nombreuses années d’expérience dans l’industrie, c’est sa vision et sa détermination qui propulsent Ulysse Nardin dans le 21e siècle.

Rolf Schnyder a vu son immense valeur, et le potentiel que la société avait pour exprimer une nouvelle vision de l’horlogerie.

La stratégie de Rolf Schnyder est simple – fabriquer des montres-bracelets pouvant tirer profit de la grande expertise de la société et adopter des idées novatrices.

À la fin des années 1950, Rolf, alors âgé de 28 ans, voyage en Asie pour superviser la division Montres d’une société commerciale suisse.C’est le début d’une passion durable et d’un intérêt pour l’horlogerie. En 1968, il fonde la première usine suisse produisant des pièces de montre en Thaïlande. Plus tard, il construit une usine de cadrans à Kuala Lumpur, produisant d’autres éléments de précision pour l’industrie horlogère suisse.

Lorsqu’en 1983, Rolf apprend que la société horlogère familiale Ulysse Nardin est à vendre, il décide immédiatement de racheter la société. Cinq générations de la famille Nardin ont accompagné la société à travers les années, tout en produisant des montres de précision qui ont fait sa réputation dans les années 1800. Mais, menacée par l’arrivée des montres à quartz dans les années 1970, la société est vulnérable.

Cherchant des manières de personnifier cette nouvelle perspective, il parie sur l’astrolabe accroché au mur de l’atelier de Jorg Spöring à Lucerne.

L’idée de Rolf Schnyder est la suivante : Ulysse Nardin va miniaturiser l’astrolabe et l’intégrer à un nouveau type de montres mécaniques. Il recrute alors le créateur de cet astrolabe, Dr Ludwig Oechslin. À la fois historien, inventeur et maître horloger, Oechslin est l’homme idéal – et peut-être le seul – pour ce travail.Le modèle Ulysse Nardin Astrolabium Galileo Galilei voit le jour, et grâce à cette montre révolutionnaire, Ulysse Nardin reprend une place de choix dans le monde de l’horlogerie mécanique.

Sous la direction de Rolf Schnyder, Ulysse Nardin continue à émerveiller le monde de l’horlogerie pendant trente ans au travers d’innovations techniques sans pareil. Les montres d’une technicité extraordinaire, dont la GMT Perpetual Calendar, la Freak, la Genghis Khan et la Sonata, se voient décerner des prix pour leurs innovations techniques.« La Freak est un morceau de poésie dans le monde de l’horlogerie mécanique » a dit Rolf Schnyder à propos de son modèle phare, vainqueur du prestigieux Watch of the Year Innovation Prize 2002. En 2006, Rolf Schnyder supervise la sortie du premier calibre UN-160 à remontage automatique conçu et fabriqué en interne. 

Rolf Schnyder croit également beaucoup au développement de nouveaux matériaux, et il est le premier à utiliser du silicium dans la fabrication des pièces de mouvement.

Son énergie et sa clairvoyance ont permis de perpétuer les trésors d’Ulysse Nardin en tant que l’une des sociétés d’horlogerie de luxe les plus innovantes. En hommage à sa contribution à l’horlogerie, Rolf Schnyder s’est vu remettre le Spirit of Enterprise Gaia Award en 2003 par le Musée International d’Horlogerie. Ce prix est suivi par le Lifetime Achievement Award, décerné par le Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève : édition Asie à Singapour.

Rolf Schnyder, l’un des chefs de file de la Haute Horlogerie, propriétaire et président d’Ulysse Nardin pendant près de 30 ans, décède en avril 2011.

Ulysse Nardin utilise des cookies pour vous offrir une meilleure expérience de navigation. En continuant la navigation, nous estimons que vous acceptez leur utilisation.

OK

Portrait of Rolf W. Schnyder

A driving force behind the brand for almost 30 years, Rolf W. Schnyder was an astute businessman and a passionate advocate of Swiss watchmaking. As well as his many years of industry experience, it was his vision and determination that would propel Ulysse Nardin into the 21st century.

Rolf Schnyder saw its immense value, and the potential it contained to express a new vision of watchmaking.

In the late 1950s, 28-year-old Rolf traveled to Asia, overseeing the timepiece division of a Swiss trading company. This marked the beginning of his lifelong passion and interest in watchmaking. By 1968 he had founded the first Swiss factory to produce watch parts in Thailand. Later, he built a dial factory in Kuala Lumpur, producing other precision components for the Swiss watchmaking industry.

When Rolf learned that the family watchmaking firm of Ulysse Nardin was for sale in 1983, he immediately set about acquiring the business. Five generations of the Nardin family had guided the company through the years, all the while producing the high-precision timepieces that had made its name in the 1800s. But threatened by the rise of the quartz watch in the 1970s, the company was vulnerable. 

Schnyder's strategy was simple - manufacture wristwatches that both capitalized on the company's profound expertise and embraced innovative new ideas.

Casting about for ways to embody this new perspective, he chanced upon a wall-mounted astrolabe in watchmaker Jorg Spöring’s Lucerne workshop.

This was Schnyder's way forward: Ulysse Nardin would miniaturize the astrolabe, make it part of a new kind of mechanical watch. He enlisted the astrolabe's maker, Dr. Ludwig Oechslin. Historian, inventor and master watchmaker, Oechslin was the ideal - perhaps the only - man for the job. The Ulysse Nardin Astrolabium Galileo Galilei was born, and with one revolutionary watch, Ulysse Nardin reclaimed its pre-eminent position in the world of mechanical watchmaking. 

Under Schnyder’s guidance, Ulysse Nardin continued to amaze the horological world with unparalleled technical innovations for almost three decades to come.  Extraordinary technical timepieces including the GMT Perpetual Calendar, Freak, Genghis Khan and Sonata have all been recognized with prizes for technical innovation. “The Freak is poetry in mechanical watchmaking” said Schnyder of his baby, winner of the prestigious Watch of the Year Innovation Prize 2002. In 2006, Schnyder oversaw the launch of the first in-house conceived and executed self-winding base caliber UN-160.

Schnyder also firmly believed in developing new materials, and pioneered the use of silicium in the manufacture of movement parts.

His energy and farsightedness help ensure the continuing fortunes of Ulysse Nardin as one of the world's most innovative luxury watch companies. In recognition of these contributions to watchmaking, Schnyder was awarded the Spirit of Enterprise Gaia Award in 2003 by the Musée International d’Horlogerie. This award was followed by the Lifetime Achievement Award bestowed by the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Geneve: Asian Edition in Singapore.

In recognition of his contributions to watchmaking, Schnyder was given a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Geneve: Asian Edition in Singapore.

Rolf Schnyder, one of Haute Horlogerie's leading lights, owner and president of Ulysse Nardin for nearly 30 years, passed away in April 2011.

Ulysse Nardin uses cookies to offer you a better experience of navigation. By continuing the navigation, we believe you accept their use.

OK